top of page

Wow, I really AM a nerd...

Since I created this new website--which, by the way, is a huge improvement over WordPress (sorry WordPress)--I've had to be far more vigilant in keeping atop everything. My Only in Nevada articles are published daily, and since I have a page specifically created for those articles, I need to update them daily as well (or sometimes every couple of days, but still...I have to be vigilant.) This led me to think I should blog more frequently for myself also, and, well, ta da, here's a new one!

Now, not only do I have my own website (two actually because my WordPress one is still active at the moment), personal blogs, Instagram, Facebook, and Twitter to manage, but I have my Only in Nevada Instagram, articles, and Facebook also. I then found another wonderful new client whose Facebook, Twitter, and website I will be maintaining as well, and my awesome hairdresser (we barter because cut and color is expensive. And yes, I color my hair. Screw this gray crap!) I have also recently obtained yet another client (a local restaurant/bar/lounge) for whom I will be updating their website, maintaining their existing Facebook, and also creating and maintaining Twitter and Instagram accounts. Apparently I'm pretty darn good at attracting followers and promoting myself and others. I've always had a problem with stalkers, so I might as well put this "skill" to some positive use aside from filing restraining orders and target practice.

So, yeah, I guess in addition to my writing and blogging I am quasi-officially now a social media consultant. I find this humorous because I was a painfully shy child who, really, only broke out of my shell in a college speech class. I wrote a piece about my dog and had everyone rolling with laughter. Wow, I thought to myself, I'm funny (and not just my looks.) Hey, I was a pretty homely kid with buck teeth, glasses, braces, and godawful headgear. So, yeah. Anyway, now I was being funny with my words and the laughter removed any apprehension I had standing in front of a group of people talking.

Teaching in the prison as well as my brief stint as a GED teacher at the local community college helped me hone these skills and increase my comfort level. Today, I can talk about anything in front of anyone.

Now on to my open mic stand-up comedy trial. When I get my nerve up, of course.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page