top of page

Depleted

Wow, it has been quite a while since I have blogged for myself. Among all of my freelancing gigs, my personal writing gets put on the back burner, that's for sure. Of course, however, earning a living does take priority over my own "need" to get my words "out there." Regardless, to ensure my continued evolution as a writer (and not just someone else's ghost blogger"), this is a necessary endeavor.

Honestly, though, I am experiencing a writer's block of sorts. Having my brain consumed with Only in Nevada articles (which I will no longer be penning), legal blogs, financial planning blogs, daylight savings time articles, and (my newest and most exciting gig) poker articles leaves little room for any purely creative or Natalie-driven efforts. Perhaps a new poetry collection is in order?

I have actually been toying around with attempting another novel/novella, but I tend to get bored with that much storytelling. I can happily crank out a 30-page research paper like it's nothing; however, attempting to craft a purely fictional tale is quite daunting. While I have thought about returning to the short story (also, which I haven't written in some time), my creative writer's block provides a significant obstacle. I find myself, instead, seeking out additional work from others as opposed to fulfilling my inherent desire to produce a magnum opus. I have also considered another nonfiction effort as The Downfall of American Corrections was very satisfying. Yet, again, selecting a topic to research is problematic.

So, instead, I will continue to complain to anyone who wants to hear, er read me. However, if you have any ideas about where my next creative endeavor could go, I would love to hear them.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page