top of page

The Little Engine that Could

As any "artist" will tell you, garnering recognition for one's work and attracting new clients is always satisfying and quite ego-boosting. After years of ghostwriting blogs for various professionals and plugging away on research papers for college and graduate students, seeing my name attached to my own work--especially on well-known and prestigious sites--is beyond anything a freelancer could want. I remember when my article on academic education for inmates was accepted by Corrections Today how over the moon I was, and, today, I am still extremely proud of that piece and milestone.

My two latest gigs are based on a couple of huge hobbies of mine--fantasy football and poker. Even though I haven't participated in fantasy football much in the past few years due to lack of funding (and my current distaste with the NFL), I do find it a fun and challenging endeavor and a great opportunity to share my interest with others. As for poker, again, lack of funds makes this a bit difficult; however, local free leagues and cheap tournaments give me the opportunity to play whenever possible. Yet, being able to write about poker--and sharing my opinions to those who will actually read them--is tremendously gratifying.

For all of you budding writers out there, don't give up. It may seem as though you may never get your name out there, but keep trying. It will take a while--even years--but keep plugging along because when you get the exposure and associated recognition, it is so worth it!

Happy writing!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page