top of page

Rinse, Recycle, and Repeat

I have been so consumed with my new creative website and creating content there that I have been seriously neglecting this blog. Whereas Sin City Stories is for purely creative endeavors, I try to keep this one more focused on all things writing and the writing process (and the Vegas Golden Knights, of course, because priorities!)

Thankfully, I had an idea the other night that falls within the scope of the writing process. So, voila!

I always wanted to write a book. Even as a child with my stapled together pieces of paper homemade stories, this has been a goal of mine for decades. I finally fulfilled that dream back in October, 2012, with my novella Trophy Hunter. I have since retired that title because all of my students in the prison (well, all of the inmates...and staff, actually) wanted to order it from Amazon, and I really didn't need them knowing what went on inside of my head. Also, in retrospect, it was a horrible book. Thin, relatively unlikable characters, underdeveloped plot, and really atrocious formatting makes me cringe to this day. This is why I focus on short anecdotes, poetry, and nonfiction.

As I have been endeavoring to publish another book but have had zero ideas, I thought about possibly rewriting Trophy Hunter to make it adhere to my new and improved standards. At one point, I thought of writing the same story from the point of view of the antagonist (since most of my fiction is written in first person from the protagonist's perspective); however, if I combine the two ideas and flesh out the story and characters better, who knows? I might actually create the Great American Novel. OK, well, maybe not the Great American Novel, but certainly (or potentially) an entertaining and well-written American novel.

Or I could get bored with the entire project. I suppose we shall see.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page