top of page

Vegas Born

Happy New Year, everyone. Yeah, I know I'm, what, three weeks late. I can 'splain. I have been pretty busy trying to get all of these words that are wreaking havoc in my brain down on paper, er my computer screen. Since I haven't published a book in four months, I'm a bit out of sorts; however, I am also at a loss for a topic. I'm completely burned out on poetry, and not only did I truly enjoy researching and writing The Downfall of American Corrections, but it has become my best-selling book. I had previously thought of something in the same vein, perhaps discussing the importance of education in the prison system, but I am really not sure how well that would be received. Or how motivated I am currently to embark down the research trail.

In the interim, I continue to enjoy writing my poker articles immensely and have picked up a few more quasi-regular clients. Everything published under my name is on my "Links" page, so if you are in need of some scintillating bathroom reading, now you know where to turn.

And now for something completely different (thanks Monty Python!)

How about those incredible Vegas Golden Nights, the NHL's newest (and best) expansion team ever. Not only are they breaking records left and right as far as expansion teams go, but they are currently the #1 team in the entire LEAGUE. (Sorry not sorry Tampa Bay.) What I find truly exceptional about this team is how well they have coalesced into a unit where there isn't one star. This group of guys is a team in the true sense of the word, and I am uber-proud to be a huge fan. Since I've been boycotting the NFL for the past year (and will likely continue for, um, ever), it's been difficult not having football in my life. After all, for more than 30 years, the NFL has been a huge part of my existence. From watching games to writing articles to playing and writing about fantasy football, let me say that I truly put the "NAT" in fanatic. I'll watch college ball on occasion, but, for me anyway, it's not the same. Must be something about overpaid primadonnas. I'm not sure.

But now there's hockey. While I have enjoyed watching it in the past (and I even played for a year in college), I never really invested much time and energy in any one team. Until the Golden Knights. The #VegasBorn Golden Knights. Go Knights Go!

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page