top of page

To Ink or Not to Ink

Just like tattoos, writing books are addictive, albeit much less expensive. Don't believe me? Well, I currently have 14 tattoos and have written 16 books (five titles have since been retired for various reasons with the most common one being, "Holy cow, this book sucks! I can't believe I wrote this drivel!") While I have been considering an ink sleeve for the past several months, my budget doesn't have enough room for this frivolity, so, instead, I have been seriously toying with the idea of writing another book.

But what kind? While I think I'm pretty much poetried out, in all honesty, I haven't really tried to pen any verse as of late. Thinking about my most recent interests, I don't suppose a poetry collection about the Vegas Golden Knights would garner much interest outside of Las Vegas; however, given their impressive success and the way in which Sin City (and other parts of the US and Canada) have jumped aboard the Golden Knights band-zambonie, one truly never knows.

Case in point, check out the 600-pound Golden Knights jersey adorning the New York, New York's Statue of Liberty. According to MGM Resorts International, the jersey took 400 man-hours to construct.

Before I return to the actual point of this blog, let me take a minute to wish the Golden Knights success in round 2 of the Stanley Cup playoffs versus the San Jose Sharks who, like us, swept their first-round opponent. Let's hope the Knights keep this amazing inaugural season going all the way to the Cup!

So, where was I? Oh yeah, thinking of writing another book. Dang this seemingly endless writer's block though. While I'd love to pen the great American novel, win a Pulitzer, and finally become a question on Jeopardy!, my attention span with what I call "long fiction" is sorely lacking, and I can't fathom any interesting topics for short stories that anyone other than my mother would even want to read. And I think I've nixed the poetry; at least for now. That leaves nonfiction, akin to my prison book.

Nonfiction requires considerable research, something with which I have oodles of experience having written nearly 1,000 research papers for college students, grad students, and myself. But, just because I happen to be good at something doesn't necessarily mean I want to (or should) undertake it, especially given that my blogs and articles also require research, although not to the same painstaking degree.

Another option is to pen a series of humorous anecdotes a la David Sedaris. I have several on my site already, and I have been told on several occasions that I have a flair for funny, so perhaps this may manifest in the near future.

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Archive
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Basic Square
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Google+ Basic Square
bottom of page